Files security and Guests users
When you have guests in your GroupCamp account (customers, partners,...), specific security measures in the Files application allow you to securily share files.
In this article:
Important note: These security measures are put in place in order to prevent your colleagues from sharing a file (or the comment thread of a file) with guests by accident.
Rules on access rights: Preview and download a file
- Only guests that are members of the group that owns File A. can access File A.
- Guests do not have access to files when the owner of these files is a user.
Access rules on the Information panel of a file: Comments, followers, updates, versions, Linked items, etc
When a group with guests members owns a file that is:
- posted in another group with guests,
- an attachement on an item in another group with guests,
then the Information panel of the file is no longer accessible to guests in both groups.
In the Files application, the eye-slash icon indicates to colleagues all the files that do not belong to the group.
Clicking on the the eye-slash icon will open up the Information panel of the file and lead you straight to the Tab entitled Places where this file is shared. This tab will allow you to find out who owns this file and indicates whether or not guests have access to this file.
When the file belongs to a user: No guests have access to this file.
When the file belongs to a group: Only guests, which are members of the owner group have access to the file.
Guests that are members of the group see the same eye-slash icon than colleagues - However the message displayed on mouseover is different.
Guests cannot preview nor download the file. Guests cannot access information contained in the Information panel of the file either.
When you wish to add files located in another group or in your personal Files application, then use the Copy command if you wish guests to have access to them.
If you use the Link command, the file will be shared in both groups. If your targeted group contains guests (in the example below "Avrilabs/Acomm alliance") a confirmation window will be displayed on your screen.
When you add an attachment that belongs to another group, the same confirmation window will be displayed if you hit the Select command.
Note: If your targeted group does not have guests, the confirmation window will not be displayed. If guests are added as group members afterwards, the same rules will be applied and guests will not have access to files.
You need to delete the file, then use the Copy command (read question above).
We strongly recommend you not to change the file owner.